The Department of Public Enterprises has been leading the reform programme of the State PSUs. It has a total staff strength of 52 which makes it one of the leanest Departments within the Government.

The Department of Public Enterprises is headed by a Cabinet Minister and the Secretariat is headed by a Commissioner-cum-Secretary to the Government of Orissa, assisted by an Additional Secretary to Government, two Under Secretaries to Government, two Desk Officers & two Section Officers. Besides, two Deputy Directors who are specialists in management of the Public Sector Reforms & Finance are providing technical advice to the Department. Out of the above two Deputy Directors, one is from the Senior Cadre of Orissa Finance Service (OFS), who is also acting as AFA of the Department for rendering financial advice. As regards to ministerial and technical support staffs, there are nine Asst. Section Officers and three Senior Economic Investigators / Statistical Investigators are working in the Department.

In the meantime Orissa State Renewal Fund Society (OSRFS) has been set-up under the Administrative control of the Department of Public Enterprises for continuation of Public Enterprises Reform Programme after closure of DFID assisted PE Reform Programme, Phase-II with effect from 31.12.2008.


Organization as per Present Position